How to Report an Absence
If your child is not going to be at school, you must notify the school. A call from a parent/guardian is helpful and beneficial, however policy requires that upon arrival or return to school, a signed note by the parent that describes the reason for the absence must be submitted to the campus clerk. Calls to the school the day of the absence need to be done before 9:00am. For more information on absences, please refer to the Student Handbook.
For absences more than 2 days in length, the parent must send/bring in a signed note to the campus. Absences for 3 or more days sequentially must have a doctor’s note. Please remember when writing a note for your child’s absence, the note must include the following information:
- Student’s first and last name
- Date of absence(s)
- Reason for absence
- Parents’ signature
- Parent's contact phone number
You must send a parent note or medical excuse with your child for each absence. You have 3 days from the date your child returns to school for it to be excused. If the excuse comes in after 3 days it will not be excused.
Attendance & Truancy Documents from Texas Education Code
Campus Attendance & Truancy Policies
Good Attendance is important for many reasons. Your child receives the maximum benefit of education by being in school every day, and numerous studies show a strong link between academic performance and consistent attendance. Because attendance is so critical for the quality of your child’s education, the State of Texas has a Compulsory Attendance Law.
Texas law requires school children to attend school each day that instruction is provided. The law applies to children between the ages of 6 and 19. If you voluntarily enroll your child in prekindergarten or kindergarten before age 6, school attendance laws apply to your child, too.
Although perfect attendance is the goal, it’s not always possible. School districts are required to excuse student absences under certain circumstances. For a list of those, click on the EXEMPTIONS link. In addition, BSISD has its own criteria for determining what else is considered an excused absence. For example, funerals must be an immediate family member. Also, it is very important to note that you only have 3 (three) days to turn in a medical excuse to receive credit for an excused absence.
There are penalties for too many unexcused absences. Under state law, parents are held responsible for unexcused absences. Yes, even if your child is 16 years old and skips class without you knowing, YOU are considered responsible!
In addition to the Compulsory Attendance Law, there is a “90 Percent Rule”, which states that students must attend class for 90 percent of the time it is offered to receive credit for the class. The campus Attendance Committee will evaluate all student records over the 9 (nine) allowed absences to consider promotion or retention.